How to Style 10th Doctor Hair (Updated)

image9So, a while back, I wrote a short tutorial on how to style the 10th Doctor/ David Tennant’s hair. The caveat to that is, his hair is fucking magic and you really cant get it quite right without being David Tennant. This update was necessary because I feel that while the way I currently style my hair isn’t perfect, it’s closer to David’s hair than my previous attempt.

Materials:

  • image1TIGI Matte Separation Wax. Any wax is good, but I prefer this stuff because it’s got a strong but dry looking hold to it, and it’s also what David Tennant has said he used in his stint as The Doctor.
  • Hands. A fine set of working human hands will do you just fine.
  • Optional: A hair straightener and/or hair dryer. If your bangs aren’t straight like mine(my hair wasn’t always so cooperative) you will need to straighten them. Curls will not help you one bit here. A hair dryer isn’t really necessary but sometimes on a low speed it helps dry and set the wax better.

 

image2

Step 1: Start fresh!

  • So, just like last time, we want to start with straight, clean hair. It can be slightly damp, but I prefer to have it dry for the way I do my hair. Although, I really have never tried doing this style with damp hair and maybe that’s the final secret! Maybe I’ll experiment later and update this article! I wouldn’t go too much longer than what I have here because even this wax has its limits in what it will successfully hold up!

 

  • Step 2: Wax onimage3
  • Take a good glob of wax on your fingers. What I have pictured is what is good for my length of hair. Notice that if you came from my last article, I was using paste then, which is a little less strong than wax so, I needed more of it, but here a little bit will get you a long way! But really, as I look at the photo I took after writing the instructions, it doesn’t look like less.
  • Rub that wax together in your hands to warm it and also to get in even on your hands so all your wax doesn’t go in one spot on your head.

Step 3: Bananas

Now, go insane in your hair. Really, go nuts. I can’t stress this enough, you want to make sure that the wax covers as much on each hair as possible, so working it through your hair is essential. There is really no method here. image4

Step 4: Super Sayain

Now, push it all up until it looks like you’ve gone Super Sayain. image5

Step 5: Channel Your Inner Hipster

Flatten down part of the back, almost like you’ve got a baseball cap or a beanie on or something.image6

Step 6: Peak

Start to pull in from the sides to make a bit of a peak in the middle and work your way forward. (Badly pictured)image7

Step 7: Blend

On the sides, push the hair forward so it sits on your forehead a little for a bit of a finishing touch. This also blends the line that was created between the waxed an unwaxed parts of your hair.

Step 8: Arch it!

On the front of your peak, start to pull a little hair down to your forehead to create a little arch. image8

Step 9: Adjust and finish!!

Adjust any bits you are unhappy with and you are pretty much done!

image9Now, this is how I do my hair but, I have this theory that if on each side of the peak, you kind ruffle it some, it looks a little more messy like 10’s hair does. But, like I said, his hair somehow looks consistently messy and neat and beautiful all at the same time and I can’t figure out how its done.

Final thoughts:

  • Now when you’re done, this is where you might choose to blow dry your hair on a low speed to set the wax, but I don’t and it holds pretty well.
  • Your bangs may need a little extra wax, just grab tiny globs at a time and ruffle it in where you think it’s needed and style back to where it should be.
  • I really like this wax because unlike the paste I used to use, it comes out looking dryer, almost like you have no product in your hair at all
  • Good luck!!

All characters, images, and brand names are copyright of their original owners.

2 thoughts on “How to Style 10th Doctor Hair (Updated)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.